Immunology Program

The Immunology Program has 21 members from departments in the University of Minnesota Medical School, the College of Veterinary Medicine, and the College of Science and Engineering.

The scientific goal of the Immunology Program is to define the basic mechanisms that control adaptive immunity in order to develop immunotherapies that overcome the significant barriers associated with generating a durable immune response against tumor-associated antigens.

See Immunology Program Members

Research themes

  • Mechanisms of lymphocyte tolerance
  • Lymphocyte activation and signal transduction
  • Mechanisms of lymphocyte development
  • Tumor immunology and immunotherapy

Program Leaders

Yoji Shimizu

Yoji Shimizu, PhD
Professor and Harry Kay Chair, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology




Jeff Miller

Jeffrey Miller, MD
Professor of Medicine, Division of Hematology, Oncology and Transplantation