External Advisory Board and Community Impact Board

External Advisory Board

The External Scientific Advisory Board, which consists of national experts in basic, clinical and population-based research, participates in an annual external scientific review of the Masonic Cancer Center's activities.

External Advisory Board

Kevin Cullen, MD - Chairperson

Director, University of Maryland Greenebaum Cancer Center, Baltimore, MD

Alan Ashworth, PhD, FRS

Director, University of California San Francisco (UCSF) Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, San Francisco, CA

Smita Bhatia, MD, MPH

Associate Director for Outcomes Research, University of Alabama Birmingham Comprehensive Cancer Center, Birmingham, AL

Mary-Ann Bjornsti, PhD

Chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, the Newman H. Waters Chair of Clinical Pharmacology, Program Leader of Cancer Cell Biology and Associate Director for Translational Research for the O'Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center, Birmingham, AL

Melissa Bondy, PhD

Associate Director of Cancer Prevention and Population Sciences, Dan L. Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston TX

Stan Gerson, MD

Director, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center, Cleveland, OH

David Horne, PhD

Vice Provost, Beckman Research Institute of The City of Hope, Duarte, CA

Thomas Kensler, PhD

Professor, Translational Research Program, Public Health Sciences Division, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA

Anita Y. Kinney, PhD

Associate Director for Cancer Health Equity and Engagement, Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey, New Brunswick, NJ

Karen E. Knudsen, MBA, PhD 

Chief Executive Officer, American Cancer Society (ACS), Philadelphia, PA

Drew Memmott, Mphil, MA

Associate Director for Administration, University of Chicago Medicine Comprehensive Cancer Center, Chicago, IL

James Mulé, PhD

Associate Center Director, Translational Science & Technology Development, Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, FL

Kola S. Okuyemi, MD MPH

Chair of the Family & Preventive Medicine, Huntsman Cancer Institute, Salt Lake City, UT

Vito Quaranta, MD

Professor of Cancer Biology, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, Nashville, TN

Louis Weiner, MD

Director, Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center, Washington, DC

Community Impact Board

The Community Impact Board advises and supports the leadership in mission, programmatic direction, community interactions, outreach, public relations, and advocacy.

*ex officio

Ruth Bachman (Chair)
Andy Arsham, PhD
Melissa Buffalo
Marshall "Marty" Davis
Jo DeBruycker
Charlton Dietz
Kathleen Gavin
Art Lingo
Roger McNear
Adair Mosely
Burton Schwartz, MD
Tsega Tamene
Douglas Yee, MD*
Aaron Schilz, MPA*
Christopher Pennell, PhD*
Jenny Poynter, PhD*
Maria L. Rahne, MBA*
Kiara Ellis, MSW*

Community Impact Board Emeritus Members

Carla Bender
Idelle Bjelland
Marva Bohen
Lois Brown
Kate Bryant
Marilyn Bryant
Martin Chorzempa
Barbara Forster
Bob Griffin
Mark Gaasedelen
Jane Gregerson
Roben Hunter
Rep. Phyllis Khan
Matt Kramer
Roger Ledding
Irving Lerner, MD
Don Mertz
Kris Rhodes
George "Skip" Thaler
Joel Theisen