Masonic Cancer Center

A comprehensive cancer center designated by the National Cancer Institute


Masonic Cancer Center Leadership

Executive Committee

Administrative Leadership

Shared Resources

External Advisory Board

Community Advisory Board


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee provides leadership in the strategic planning and implementation of Masonic Cancer Center goals and objectives. It is responsible for formulating, directing, revising and implementing research, educational objectives, budget priorities, distribution of space and recruitment of faculty and staff. 

Douglas Yee, M.D., Director
Jeffrey Miller, M.D., Deputy Director
Seanne Falconer, M.B.A., Associate Director, Administration
Dorothy Hatsukami, Ph.D., Associate Director, Cancer Prevention and Control
Badrinath Konety, M.D., M.B.A., Associate Director, Clinical Affairs
David Largaespada, Ph.D., Associate Director, Basic Sciences
Christopher Pennell, Ph.D., Associate Director, Education and Community Engagement
Jill Siegfried, Ph.D., Associate Director, Translational Research
Anja Bielinksy, Ph.D., Program co-Leader, Genetic Mechanisms of Cancer
Peter Bitterman, M.D., Program co-Leader, Genetic Mechanisms of Cancer
Edward Greeno, M.D., Director, Oncology Service Line
Kalpna Gupta, Ph.D., Program co-Leader, Tumor Microenvironment
Lisa Peterson, Ph.D., Program Leader, Carcinogenesis and Chemoprevention
Anne Joseph, M.D., M.P.H., Program co-Leader, Prevention and Etiology
Karen Kuntz, Sc.D., Program co-Leader, Prevention and Etiology
Carol Lange, Ph.D., Program Leader, Cell Signaling
James McCarthy, Ph.D., Program co-Leader, Tumor Microenvironment
Heather Nelson, Ph.D., Program co-Leader, Prevention and Etiology
Frank Ondrey, M.D., Ph.D., Program co-Leader, Carcinogenesis and Chemoprevention Program
Yoji Shimizu, Ph.D., Program Leader, Immunology
John Wagner, M.D., Program co-Leader, Transplant Biology and Therapy
Daniel Weisdorf, M.D., Program co-Leader, Transplant Biology and Therapy

Administrative Leadership

Jean Jacoby, Administrative Services Manager
Seanne Falconer, M.B.A., Associate Director for Administration
Joyce Melzer, Finance Manager
Aaron Schilz, Operations Manager

Shared Resource Directors 

Gerry O'Sullivan, M.V.B., Ph.D., Diplomate A.C.V.P. & ECVP, Comparative Pathology
Anindya Bagchi, Ph.D., Mouse Genetics Laboratory (Co-Director)
Robert Tureksy, Ph.D., Analytical Biochemistry
Eric Hendrickson, Ph.D., Genome Engineering
Betsy Hirsch, Ph.D., Cytogenomics
David A. Largaespada, Ph.D., Mouse Genetics Laboratory (Co-Director)
Chap Le, Ph.D., Biostatistics and Informatics
Christopher Pennell, Ph.D., Flow Cytometry
Brenda Weigel, M.D., Clinical Trials Office Medical Director
Michael Verneris, M.D., Translational Cell Therapy

Deans and Directors

The Council of Deans and Directors advises the Director and assists in efforts to achieve goals and objectives, discusses advocacy for development and operations, and provides oversight of finances.

Brooks Jackson , M.D., Vice President for Health Sciences; Dean, Medical School
Trevor Ames, D.V.M., Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine
Steven L. Crouch, Ph.D., Dean, Institute of Technology
Connie White Delaney, Ph.D., R.N., Dean, School of Nursing
Robert Elde, Ph.D., Dean, College of Biological Sciences
John Finnegan, Ph.D., Dean, School of Public Health
Leon A. Assael, D.M.D., Dean, School of Dentistry
Marilyn Speedie, Ph.D., Dean, College of Pharmacy
Douglas Yee, M.D., Director, Masonic Cancer Center
Seanne Falconer, M.B.A.,  (ex officio) Associate Director for Administration

External Advisory Board

The External Scientific Advisory Board, which consists of national experts in basic, clinical and population-based research, participates in an annual external scientific review of the Masonic Cancer Center's activities.

David Beer, Ph.D., Professor of Surgery and Radiation Oncology, Co-director, Cancer Genetics Program, University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center
Smita Bhatia, M.D., M.P.H., Chair and Professor, Population Sciences City of Hope National Medical Center
MaryAnn Bjornsti, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Pharmacology, Program leader of Cancer Cell Biology, Associate Director for Translational Research, University of Alabama Birmingham, Comprehensive Cancer Center
Melissa Bondy, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Epidemiology, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston
Cathy Bradley, Ph.D., Professor and Associate Director, Cancer Prevention and Control, University of Colorado School of Public Health (ad hoc)
Kevin Cullen, M.D., Director, University of Maryland Greenebaum Cancer Center, Baltimore
Michael Darling, M.H.A, Associate Director for Administration, Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center, Indiana University
Patrick Dougherty, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Pain Medicine, Division of Anesthesiology, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Thomas Kensler, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore
Patricia LoRusso, D.O., Professor of Medicine and Associate Director of Innovative Medicine, Yale Cancer Center, New Haven
James Mulè, Ph.D., Associate Center Director, Translational Science & Tehncology Development, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer & Research Institute, Tampa
Vito Quaranta, M.D., Professor of Cancer Biology, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, Nashville
Scott Ramsey, M.D., Ph.D., Director, Cancer Outcomes Research, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Glorian Sorensen, Ph.D., M.P.H., Director, Center for Community-Based Research, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston
Dan Theodorescu, M.D., Ph.D., Director, University of Colorado Cancer Center, Denver
Louis Weiner, M.D., Director, Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center

Community Advisory Board

The Community Advisory Board advises and supports the leadership in mission, programmatic direction, community interactions, outreach, public relations, and advocacy.

Ruth Bachman (Chair)
Carla Bender
Idelle Bjelland
Kate Bryant
Marilyn Tickle Bryant
Martin Chorzempa
Jo DeBruycker
Charlton Dietz
Barbara Forster
Mark Gaasedelen
Kathleen Gavin
Jane Gergerson
Bob Griffin
Roben Hunter
Phyllis Kahn, Ph.D.
Matt Kramer
Irving Lerner, M.D.
Don Mertz
George "Skip" Thaler
Joel Theisen
Emily Anne Tuttle
Douglas Yee, M.D.*
Seanne Falconer, M.B.A.*
Christopher Pennell, Ph.D.*
Marva Bohen, R.N.**

*ex officio
** staff

  • ©2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer
  • Last modified on February 4, 2015